Grief is….

Grief is an emotion that is the natural response to a loss.  But this simple definition doesn’t really describe what grief is, how it feels, and in my  mind, how it changes over time. I believe we always carry grief with us, but it’s not always a heavy burden.  Sometimes it feels like a bag of rocks we are dragging along with us, sometimes it’s shrouded over us like a wet blanket, and sometimes we are carry it tucked in the back pocket of our jeans.

I believe writing about our grief can help us understand our loss, and live with the loss.

“As long as I kept moving, my grief streamed out behind me like a swimmer’s long hair in water. I knew the weight was there, but it didn’t touch me. Only when I stopped did the slick, dark stuff of it come floating around my face, catching my arms and throat till I began to drown. So I just didn’t stop.”

~Barbara Kingsolver, The Poisonwood Bible

What is grief to you?

About Jennifer Simpson

I’m a freelance writer, marketing consultant, and teacher. I’m also the director of DimeStories International, where authors share their 3-minute stories aloud at open mic events and online, and I am the publisher and editor of the I WRITE BECAUSE project. Find out more at http://JenniferSimpsonWriter.com
This entry was posted in creative writing, grief. Bookmark the permalink.