Writing or Therapy?

A friend recently shared this article from Creative Nonfiction with me, “Writing Memoir and Writing for Therapy: an Inquiry on the Functions of Reflection,” by Tara DaPra. Great read for anyone writing memoir, especially in response to loss (or other trauma):

On the first day of “Introduction to Literary Nonfiction,” the instructor, a graduate student, introduced herself and made an announcement: “This class is not therapy.” Afterward, I went to her office hours in a panic. “But I find writing very therapeutic,” I said. “Am I doing something wrong?”

Do you find writing therapeutic?  Do you worry that it get’s in the way of the story?  How do you move beyond the therapeutic into the making of art?  Do you have to?  Lots of interesting things to think about.

About Jennifer Simpson

Writer, marketing consultant, community builder and teacher. Director of DimeStories International, where authors share their 3-minute stories at open mic events and online. Publisher and editor of the I WRITE BECAUSE project. Find out more at http://JenniferSimpsonWriter.com
This entry was posted in creative writing, grief. Bookmark the permalink.